Life Lessons

Finally, I’m becoming a grown-up.

For once, excitement DOES NOT trump responsibility.

When I was younger (several years ago, when I still went to UTSA), I used to always say, “Excitement triumphs over responsibility.”

At the time, it made sense. Why live a boring life when there were so many things out there waiting for me to experience them?

My first year of college was full of experience and I had so much fun! Learning was not only done in the classrooms. I learned a whole lot off campus, as well.

But now, times have changed.

I’m officially a college graduate as of last Saturday, December 14th, 2013.

And now I have to stop looking at myself with rose-colored glasses. I am a product of my decisions. My choices have led me to where I am today.

Choosing to study and do the homework and read the books got me to graduation.

Choosing to respect myself caused me to lose some people that I thought were my friends.

Choosing to stand up for my beliefs led to the end of an abusive relationship.

And the choices I’ve made in the past have led to the person I am this very day.

So why do people still feel ashamed of the person staring back at them in the mirror when they have triumphed over much adversity and evil?

Because an entire life of good cannot make up for a mistake. It still has to be accepted and dealt with.

Take for example this clip from one of my favorite movies, Courageous: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_ympKXmC6c

Excitement or self-protection shouldn’t EVER outweigh responsibility. If it does, then you need to do some serious thinking about where you are in life.

You are nothing without your honesty and integrity. Furthermore, no one can forgive you until you have forgiven yourself.

Do what’s right. You’re going to make mistakes. You’re going to trip up. You are going to fail. But that doesn’t mean that you are a bad person; it means that you are human.

So go out there and be human. Figure it out.

Most of all… don’t hate yourself for your mistakes. Understand yourself. Love yourself by accepting and dealing with those mistakes.

And never ever let excitement triumph over your responsibility.

One thought on “Life Lessons

Leave a Reply

