Cracking the Shell (by Samantha Davis)

Clawing my way out of this hole I crawled into

It’s harder than it looks

Letting myself see the light

I was blinded by it for so long

But that wasn’t a light – it was a reflection

And it honestly wasn’t me.

The gold won’t buy me, honey

The gold is just a fantasy

The gold made me fight, made me kick and scream

The gold held me down

Aroused my curiosity.

But my arms are stronger than fear

And I swear to you I’m getting out of here

One step at a time.

One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

