“The Flame” (A song by Samantha Davis)

Memories 
Shattered pieces 
Inconsistencies 
Can I believe them? 
You picked me up 
Right from the ground 
Your palms warm around my throat 
Don’t you know 

CHORUS 
You drew me to the flame 
I’ll never be the same 
I closed my eyes & let you in 
You put your mark on me 
Smiling through blood, I see 
Your name ingrained in my brain 
(You’re always with me) 

Melodies 
Forsaken lyrics 
Piano keys 
Banging in my head 
This world is standing still 
Yet I am spinning madly 
Just from the feeling of knowing you’re here 
Don’t you know 

CHORUS 

Outspoken 
Rewind 
Lying to myself by pretending you’re blind 
So here I am, fighting this facade 
Tugging on this foolish mask 
Why can’t I take it off? 
Why can’t I take it off? 
Why can’t I take it off? 

CHORUS 

Broken, but made new 
Just- by being with you 
(set me on fire)

Leave a Reply

